Black and white stylized logo reading Bluescreening.

Finally Free(ish)

Good evening, or good morning, depending on where you are and when you're reading this. So I'm done with exams now, which is pretty dope. I'm scared that I didn't get the grades for Oxford, which would suck because I've kinda based my whole identity around that at this point. Yes I know that's unhealthy. I'm trying to stop it. But hey, there's nothing to be done about that until August, so in the meantime it's time to enjoy my summer!

Sorry did I say enjoy my summer? I meant become a slave to capitalism. Uni requires money and stuff.

Luckily I've managed to find a job in STEM education, which unluckily means I have a bunch of emails and stuff to look at and people to talk to and training to do. And it's also full time which sucks major ass. But if it's what's gonna put me through university then I have to take it. It's not like I have much of a choice anyway - it's hell getting a job when most people can't afford to heat their homes, let alone employ someone.

I do have a girlfriend now. They also work full time, but at night, so I will literally never see them. Welp.

This is all coming off a little depressing. I just watched a really good Vewn short and it's got me thinking about some stuff. I recommend you watch it too! I love Vewn.

In slightly less depressing stuff, I've been getting into emulation lately. Mostly as a way to play Sonic 1 after Origins' disastrous launch. Thank god I didn't spend money on that particular £40 trash pile. It's way easier than I thought it would be, and I'm actually able to finish the game because of save states and such. I also found a bunch of £2 GameCube and Switch pro controllers in the charity shop, so they've all come home with me. They include one of those modern Smash Bros USB GameCube controllers (it's pink and see-through!) and an Animal Crossing pro controller which I'm pretty sure was limited edition? Either way, I have officially made it up to my dad for wrecking all our JoyCons with Taiko no Tatsujin.

Sonic is the hyperfixation of the month if you haven't guessed. I can't get enough of him... I may or may not have actually genuinely started watching Sonic Underground. I'm also on my way to a 100% save file of SA2. I did complete SA1 but I'm not 100%ing it. I'm no masochist. So now I'm going to finish all the 2Ds then see if I can't get a Very Legal Version of Shadow the Hedgehog working on my lil old laptop. That's all that's standing between me and Sonic '06. That and Heroes I guess. But I have caught wind of an actually playable '06 port, which looks very promising...

Hopefully updates will be more frequent now. And I'm updating the CSS on this trashy site once and for all, too. Until then, see ya.

- Blue